Harbour Investment Hui

We would like to invite you and your colleagues to attend the third annual Harbour Investment Hui.  Please feel free to forward this invitation on to anyone you feel may be interested in attending.

Date: Tuesday 29th November

Time: 10.30am, for 11am start (finishing with drinks and canapes at 4pm)

Venue: Wellington, exact venue TBC

We are delighted to have Sir Tipene O’Regan (Ngāi Tahu) joining us for opening remarks, and as a panelist.  A full list of speakers and panelists will be announced before the event.  Topics that will be covered include:

  • ESG (Environmental, Social and Governance) issues in investing
  • Developing an appropriate distribution/spending policy
  • Investing in property, agriculture and forestry
  • The state of play in global markets

The event is free to attend.

  The aim of the Harbour Investment Hui is to deepen the investment knowledge of Māori communities.  It’s designed for anyone tasked with protecting and growing money now, and for future generations, on behalf of Iwi groups, Trusts and other Māori entities.


MWDI Conference & Awards

Connections are a huge part of owning and operating a small business.  Maori Women’s Development Inc, want to help facilitate those connections by presenting Hine Mareikura – a conference for Māori business women and their whanau, taking place in Wellington 7 December 2017.

The aim of the conference is to provide businesses with learning and networking opportunities, provide practical skills and pathways for small business success, and most of all build meaningful connections.  We want to profile successful Māori Business Women who own and operate small businesses, and encourage small businesses to take the next step in their journey.

Registrations are now open so get in quick and secure your place at Hine Mareikura – www.mwdi.co.nz

After a 10 year reprieve, the MWDI Maori Business Women Awards are back, reinvigorated and with 6 new award categories.  Could your business be taking one of these prestigious awards home this year?

As a wahine Māori and business owner, we want you to celebrate your hard work and success by nominating your Business for a MWDI Māori Business Women Award 2017.  These nominations not only represent your rohe, but also business excellence through various disciplines such as innovation and collaboration.

The Awards are open to small businesses (less than 19 employees) new and mature as well as social enterprises that are owned by wāhine Māori either alone or jointly with others.

Nominate your business today! – www.mwdiawards.weebly.com

New Ministerial Line Up

Cause for optimism

The new ministerial list has been announced and it includes both a Minister for Economic Development, Hon David Parker and a Minister for Regional Economic Development, Hon Shane Jones.  Economic Development NZ sees this new focus on regional development as a cause for optimism.

The Economic Development NZ briefing to incoming ministers, which included the call for a fresh approach to regional economic development and the establishment of a regional economic development minister, has been sent to the PM, Deputy PM, Leader of the Greens Party and relevant ministers, along with an invitation to meet with the Chair of Economic Development NZ and establish an ongoing dialogue.

New Ministerial List


1 Jacinda Ardern

Prime Minister Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage

Minister for National Security and Intelligence

Minister for Child Poverty Reduction


2 Rt Hon Winston Peters

Deputy Prime Minister

Minister of Foreign Affairs

Minister for State Owned Enterprises

Minister for Racing


3 Kelvin Davis

Minister for Crown/Māori Relations

Minister of Corrections

Minister of Tourism Associate

Minister of Education (Māori Education)


4 Grant Robertson

Minister of Finance.

Minister for Sport and Recreation Associate

Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage


5 Phil Twyford

Minister of Housing and Urban Development

Minister of Transport


6 Dr Megan Woods

Minister of Energy and Resources

Minister for Greater Christchurch Regeneration

Minister of Research, Science and Innovation

Minister Responsible for the Earthquake Commission


7 Chris Hipkins

Minister of Education

Minister of State Services Leader of the House

Minister Responsible for Ministerial Services


8 Andrew Little

Minister of Justice Minister for Courts

Minister Responsible for the GCSB

Minister Responsible for the NZSIS

Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations

Minister Responsible for Pike River Re-entry


9 Carmel Sepuloni

Minister for Social Development

Minister for Disability Issues Associate

Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage Associate

Minister for Pacific Peoples


10 Dr David Clark

Minister of Health

Associate Minister of Finance


11 Hon David Parker

Attorney-General Minister for Economic Development

Minister for the Environment

Minister for Trade and Export Growth

Associate Minister of Finance


12 Hon Nanaia Mahuta

Minister for Māori Development

Minister of Local Government Associate

Minister for the Environment


13 Stuart Nash

Minister of Police

Minister of Fisheries

Minister of Revenue

Minister for Small Business


14 Iain Lees-Galloway

Minister for Workplace Relations and Safety

Minister of Immigration

Minister for ACC

Deputy Leader of the House


15 Jenny Salesa

Minister for Building and Construction

Minister for Ethnic Communities Associate

Minister of Education Associate

Minister of Health

Associate Minister of Housing and Urban Development


16 Hon Damien O’Connor

Minister of Agriculture

Minister for Biosecurity

Minister for Food Safety

Minister for Rural Communities Associate

Minister of Trade and Export Growth


17 Clare Curran

Minister of Broadcasting, Communications and Digital Media

Minister for Government Digital Services Associate

Minister for ACC

Associate Minister of State Services (Open Government)


18 Ron Mark

Minister of Defence Minister for Veterans


19 Tracey Martin

Minister for Children

Minister of Internal Affairs

Minister for Seniors

Associate Minister of Education


20 Hon ShaneJones

Minister of Forestry

Minister for Infrastructure

Minister for Regional Economic Development Associate

Minister of Finance Associate

Minister of Transport


Ministers outside of Cabinet


Kris Faafoi

Minister of Civil Defence

Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs

Associate Minister of Immigration


Peeni Henare

Minister for the Community and Voluntary Sector

Minister for Whānau Ora Minister for Youth Associate

Minister for Social Development


Willie Jackson

Minister of Employment

Associate Minister for Māori Development


Aupito William Sio

Minister for Pacific Peoples Associate

Minister for Courts

Associate Minister of Justice


Meka Whaitiri

Minister of Customs Associate

Minister of Agriculture Associate

Minister for Crown/Māori Relations

Associate Minister of Local Government


Support Party Ministers


James Shaw

Minister for Climate Change

Minister of Statistics

Associate Minister of Finance


Julie Anne Genter

Minister for Women

Associate Minister of Health

Associate Minister of Transport


Eugenie Sage

Minister of Conservation

Minister for Land Information

Associate Minister for the Environment